המחוייך | With A Smile

The Personality of Stuff – part 1

אישיותם של דברים – חלק 1

I don't know about you, but as for myself – I've come to realize that "stuff" can show a tendency to develop a personality over time.

If I'm not mistaken, I first became aware to this phenomena when I realized I was sharing my life with a crazy clock.
I don't mean it didn't show the time (I seem to remember a residual trust existing for a while) but as for waking me up… well, that was a totally different matter.

Whether to do its job (or not), and if so – when and how: Before, or (more likely) at least half an hour after my chosen wake-up time; with a full ring, or a disjointed subtle hint of it… All that was up to the clock…

Needless to say that eventually I got fed up and that clock lost its job (with a full hearing and triplicate due forms) and it became a historic event by starting a chain of replacement-clocks (hopefully the last one would actually be the last).

Having said all that don't get me started on mobile phones. I'll just hint (in as short a form as I can) that I had a friend with a string of opinionated mobile phones. All the ones she used (but one) kept cutting us off. Regardless of coverage, technological advancement, smarts, service, weather, or wear. Only her last one (before she and I lost touch) allowed, at times, full conversations. That is – if it felt like it.

But that (unfortunately) is true about land-lines as well (and possibly also computers, about which I just might say something too. You'll have to wait for post number two :-)).

The other day I was talking to a (very nice!) representative of a company (both of us using land-lines!), when I heard her say a few (chioce) words, not to me but to her computer. I shared with her my half-formed thoughts about appliance-personality and tried to warn her to be nice to it as well. The words were barely out of my mouth when…

of course. We were cut off.
I can't help but feel that at least one of the appliances we were using possibly heard me too, and liked the idea too much to resist temptation. However, when she called me back she was still laughing, and that, as we all know, is a good thing.

To be continued
L


ובעברית:

לא יודעת מה אתכם, אך כשלעצמי – הבנתי מכבר כי ל"דברים" יכולה להיות נטייה לפיתוח אישיות במהלך הזמן.

אם אינני טועה, התחלתי להתעורר לתופעה כששמתי לב שאני חולקת את חיי עם שעון משוגע.
הוא אמנם הראה את השעה (נדמה לי שאני זוכרת שיירים של אמון שורדים זמן-מה), אך כשזה הגיע להערה שלי… ובכן, זה היה עניין אחר לגמרי.

האם להעיר אותי (או לא), ואם כן – מתי וכיצד: לפני או (מה שהיה מקובל עליו יותר) לפחות חצי שעה אחרי הזמן שקבעתי; בצלצול מלא או רמז מקוטע (ובלתי-נשמע)… כל זאת השעון החליט…

מיותר לציין שבסופו של דבר נמאס לי והשעון ההוא איבד את משרתו (עם שימוע מלא ובשלושה העתקים) והפך למאורע היסטורי, בכך שהחל שרשרת של שעונים-מחליפים (בשאיפה שהאחרון בהם אכן יהא האחרון).

ולאחר כל זאת, לא אכנס לעניין הטלפונים הניידים. לא מדי. ארמוז רק (בהכי קצרה שאצליח) שהיֹה הייתה לי ידידה, שהעסיקה שורה ארוכה של ניידים דעתניים. כולם (למעט האחרון) ניתקו לנו את השיחות. בלי שום קשר למיקום אנטנות, התפתחויות טכנולוגיות, חכמה, שירות, מזג אוויר, או בלאי. רק מכשירה האחרון בשימוש (כלומר – רגע לפני שנותק הקשר סופית) הרשה, לפעמים, שיחות שלמות. זאת אומרת – כשהתחשק לו.

אם כי זה (לצערי הרב) נכון גם לגבי הטלפונים הביתיים (ואולי מחשבים גם כן, עליהם אולי עוד אכתוב. בחלק 2. בקרוב).

באחד האתמולים שוחחתי עם נותנת שרות (נחמדה במיוחד!) של אחת החברות הגדולות (אף אחת מאיתנו לא בטלפון נייד), כשלפתע שמעתי אותה אומרת כמה מילים (נבחרות) לא לי, כי אם למחשב שלה. שיתפתי אותה במחשבותיי החצי-בשלות על אישיות-מכשירית וניסיתי להזהיר אותה להיות נחמדה גם אליו. המילים בקושי יצאו מפי כאשר…

כמובן. נותקנו.
לא יכולתי שלא להרגיש כי מכשיר אחד לפחות מכל אלו בהם השתמשנו שמע אותי גם כן, והרעיון נראה לו כל כך עד כי לא עמד בפיתוי. אבל-ברם-אולם, כשנותנת השירות חידשה את השיחה, עדיין הצחוק בעבע בקולה, וזה, כפי שכולנו יודעים, תמיד דבר טוב.

המשך בקרוב
L

21 תגובות בנושא “The Personality of Stuff – part 1

          1. We moved to Chicago about six years ago, I was a life long Clevelander before that. ( Cleveland Ohio )

            The Cleveland area is about 1 million, Chicago about 9 million. So it was country mouse moves to the big city.

            אהבתי

          2. Seriously big… I'd say huge
            This whole country is less than 8 million… I don't think I can imagine a city that big, despite visiting the US in my 20's
            I hope you weren't too overwhelmed

            אהבתי

          3. Luckily we live about 50 minutes outside the city in a town called Naperville. It has a small town feel, but is still part of the area called "Chicagoland" which is the city and surrounding burbs.

            Just a decade ago this used to be farms and pasture. They've kept up quite a bit of park land where I often ride my bike.

            I only go into the city when we have visitors :) – it's too full of people, or once in a while we head down to see a traveling Broadway show, I'm a big fan of musicals.

            אהבתי

          4. That does read a little like the relationship between right here and TA, so I can better picture it in my mind :-) Besides, 15-20 minutes walk away there's a park also
            :-)
            totally lost on me as I don't ride bikes

            אהבתי

          5. I like right now :-) Yesterday we had a heatwave, for today they said it'd be dusty but it cleared by noon, leaving us with a cool breeze and blue sky. Now it is also quiet (my neighbor's out) and birds give their last encore, it's getting darker and it is also a holiday eve so fewer cars on the street as well, though it's not such a busy one
            It feels fresh

            אהבתי

          6. I can tell you what I saw – a lot of funny sparrows and too chatty doves, some rose ringed parakeet (not native, apparently released by people), myna (the same), once or twice I saw a beautiful eurasian jay, plenty of smart crows, pied wagtail in winter (what a name!). Luckily I have this kind of leaflet with common birds, specifying their names. Otherwise I wouldn't know

            אהבתי

I'd love to read you :-) For English, right click on the comment field bellow. You'd get a popup, including "writing direction". Hover over it and you’ll get options to change text justification. Choose the Left to Right

