רגעי מחשבה | Thoughts

Point of View

זווית ראיה

Imagine – she's walking on the sidewalk, a car stops next to her, the driver comes out and they talk.
A simple scene, right?

Well, maybe not so much.
If the reader is imagining this somewhere like New-York, Paris, or Berlin – it will be one scene.
But if the reader is imagining this somewhere like London, Johannesburg, or Sydney – this will be another scene, and the exact reverse to the one. For in the second places the steering wheel is on the other side of the car, drivers stay close to the other side of the road and if they get out of their car, that's where they'll be… on the other side of the one scene.
(And I'd say that's quite confusing, wouldn't you?).

Imagine something else – Sapphire-Blue.
Those who know this is a color's name, will see it in their minds' eye. Those who don't… well, there are more possibilities here. Maybe they'll see any "blue", and maybe they'll remember grandma's ring. The question then will be was it really a Sapphire or a Lapis? And if it was a Sapphire, where from – the blue shades of the gem differ according to the origin.
And if grandma's ring was set with a diamond, maybe the imaginer will think "Sapphire" sounds a bit like "Zephyr" (a gentle wind) and there are all kinds of blues in the sky-light-cloud when the wind is blowing…

Not for nothing all kinds of sayings have been coined in the attempt to remind us that any subject and issue can have a myriad of aspects. Enough if I mention "the other side of the coin".

Presented as food for thought
L


ובעברית:

דמיינו – היא הולכת על המדרכה, מכונית עוצרת לצדה, נהג המכונית יוצא מהאוטו והם מדברים.
סצנה פשוטה, לא?

ובכן, אולי לא כל כך.
אם המדמיין קורא משפט זה במקום כניו-יורק, פריז, ברלין או תל-אביב – הסצנה היא אחת.
אך אם המדמיין קורא משפט זה במקום כלונדון, יוהנסבורג או סידני – הסצנה הזו אחרת ובדיוק הפוכה לאחת. שהרי במקומות השניים ההגה נמצא בצדה השני של המכונית, הנוהגים נצמדים לצידו השני של הרחוב, ומן הסתם שם הם יהיו אם ייצאו מרכבם… בצד השני לסצנה האחת.
(והייתי אומרת שזה מבלבל למדי, לא?).

דמיינו משהו אחר – כחול-ספיר.
מי שמכיר את הצבע שזהו שמו, יראה אותו לעיני-רוחו. מי שלא… ובכן, כאן יש יותר אפשרויות. יתכן שכל "כחול" יצטבע, ואולי ייזכר מישהו בטבעת הספיר של סבתא. ואז נשאלת השאלה האם אכן זו הייתה אבן ספיר, או שמא לאפיס? ואם ספיר, מהיכן – גווני הכחול של האבן שונים בהתאם למוצאה.
ואם הטבעת של סבתא שובצה ביהלום, אולי המדמיין יחשוב שהמילה "ספיר" מזכירה "צפריר" (רוח בוקר) ויחשוב על כחולים של שמים-אור-ענן של זריחה…

לא לחינם טובעו כל מני מטבעות לשון בניסיון להזכיר לנו שלכל דבר ועניין יכולים להיות מגוון של היבטים. די אם אזכיר את "הצד השני של המטבע" (ובמחוזותינו נאמר גם כי "דברים שרואים מכאן, לא רואים משם").

הוגש כחומר למחשבה
L

6 תגובות בנושא “Point of View

  1. This was a very interesting article, and I really enjoyed this because it shows that there really are incredible sides to each part of life. It really can be intense when you see how many ways you can analyse things that you thought were initially simplistic. Great thoughts.

    אהבתי

    1. Glad you enjoyed it :-) and yes. I totally agree with you. To me it's always fascinating to try and find as many aspects as I can to anything. But this post actually sprung from an in-ability, about which I'm thinking to elaborate, as soon as I figure out how to phrase it. I very much hope to be able to post it soon

      And on a much more personal note – I would like to apologize: I visited your blog but I'm afraid I was never into fashion and don't know much about it so I couldn't comment on anything, and I'm sorry about that

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the comment, and for taking the time to explain to me. Now that I know it makes me feel a lot better when I comment on your things now. Sometimes I always wonder if my comments are annoying people, so I'm glad to know it was just that my blog was not to your interest, and rather it wasn't my comment. Looking forward to reading your next posts.

        אהבתי

    1. מקווה שאתה נהנה :-)
      וגם אני לא הייתי יודעת מה צבע הספיר, אלמלא היה לי ספר על אבנים. ובמקביל – ראיתי פעם בטלוויזיה מישהו שהסביר על הגוונים השונים :-)

      אהבתי

I'd love to read you :-) For English, right click on the comment field bellow. You'd get a popup, including "writing direction". Hover over it and you’ll get options to change text justification. Choose the Left to Right

